Musings from NaNoWriMo 2012

I decided late at night on Halloween to try again this year. It was my fourth year participating, but my very first win. I almost didn’t even try. A friend convinced me to go for it again and for that I am thankful!

I did not complete my story, but I am still working on it. I started with a basic idea of what I wanted (to win) and very minor plans of what I wanted to write about, but I am planning the rest of my novel so I won’t have to rush before I forget what comes next.

I am dreading editing it though. I just can not let my own concerns about it hamper my feelings of excitement about writing. I want to have something that flows nicely that I want to share with some people. I am sure that I will find a way to make it through eventually, and I really do not want to give up out of fear.

It really was an awesome experience this year. I tried to be active on the NaNo Facebook page and I found a lot of people there willing to offer support and late night sprints. Sitting there writing with people, even on the other side of the world, meant it felt more like a group activity. There was a definite feeling of camaraderie, and the energy of the last week was amazing! I do not think I ever want to try another NaNo without companions.

I tried another new to me thing for this year, and actually went to write-ins. The same friend that convinced me to try again this year also pulled me along on my first. It was amazing being in a room full of other people that all shared a common goal. I was shocked that I got any writing done when we were all talking, but it seemed like the words flowed there. 

I was a bit sad when I realized that November was almost over because I have loved the ups and downs of this year. It was exciting for me to find out that the local people would like to continue during the rest of the year too. I can’t wait to continue to get to know all of my new friends, both online and real life.

I hope one day not to say that I try to write a novel each November, but to simply say “I write.”

Congratulations to all of the participants in National Novel Writing Month 2012!

Leave a Reply

